Testimonials

28538

‘School of the Air provide a unique insight into the outback and how they deliver education to the local children. This experience must not be missed!’ – AAT Kings

To find our more about AAT Kings and tours to our Visitor Centre please visit http://www.AATKings.com

AAT Kings

‘Simply moving’


Wow! What an experience!
As someone who has lived in the city my whole life, this was amazing to see how the children in the outback get their schooling.

We were lucky enough to see two aboriginal gentlemen teaching the children a traditional indigenous dance, to watch the children respond in the chat box and sharing their videos of them dancing was amazing!

A simple must do thing for all "city-slickers"
 

Prynny Melbourne, Australia via Trip Advisor

‘Excellent tour’

This was an unbelievably interesting tour in Alice Springs. I highly recommend anyone visiting Alice Springs to give the Alice Springs School of the Air Visitor Centre to hear about how they are serving the children of the Australian Outback. Very informative & quite a learning experience.
 

rdd1962 Bedford, Texas via Trip Advisor

‘A cultural highlight’

My research to Australia was focused on other things, so I hadn't considered the challenges of education in the remote areas of the continent. I definitely enjoyed the School of the Air with a walk through its history and a firsthand look at an instructor in the electronic classroom. Our group was all adults, but kids would certainly enjoy a visit. Our guide was a person closely involved with the operation and did an excellent job.
 

Kenneth L Chicago, Illinois Visited April 2016 via trip Advisor

‘Education overcoming physical barriers’

We a family of 4 travelled to Alice springs in June 2016. The school is a must see to understand that the country has got its priorities correct by focussing on children's education by overcoming odds of such huge distances. The school takes pride in what they do and the level of commitment is remarkable
 

Durgaprasad R Chennai Visited June 2016 via Trip Advisor

‘Amazing Fantastic Education’

Very interesting to learn that all children in Australia receives an education, School of the air has come a long way.
It was lovely to see that the children, teachers and families come together to meet one another on sports day this was very interesting
This is a must see we city folks take so much for granted
 

Michelle J Visited June 2016 via Trip Advisor

‘Staff were great’
Staff told us they are the permanent cake stall for this school that doesn't have that opportunity. Was so interesting to see how the teachers can present to and interact with the students. I loved the video which gave us some insight into the isolated lives of some of the kids. Worth the visit.

Susan M Visited June 2016 via Trip Advisor

‘Definitely worth as visit’


What an amazing place this is, I didn't expect it. The personnel that run it are great and the tour is so informative. The history and set up of the classrooms is brilliant. The best part was being able to watch an on air lesson and seeing how far technology has advanced and for the school to be in the top 10% of the education system in the NT is such an achievement.
 

Margi H Busselton, Western Australia, Australia Visited June 2016

“Fascinating look at remote education”

This Centre provides a fascinating overview of remote Australian education, with displays, videos, demonstrations and talks. It was so interesting to see a "live' lesson and see where all the kids are located around the NT. A different world!

Visited April 2016


 

Winnie1116 Hobart, Australia via Trip Advisor

“A must stop for how school works in remote locations”

Saw a nice video on the back ground to school of the air plus viewed a live lesson by their teacher. Great to see how technology has helped reach these kids and the teachers are awesome with many being there for many years. What a great place to teach. A fantastic atmosphere and a must visit when in Alice.

Visited May 2016


 

dhearsch, Sydney, Australia via Trip Advisor

“Worlds largest classroom !”

I visited The school of air recently with Grand Circle Training week - so fascinating ! So unique and very interesting - many thanks to our lovely guide Allana who answered all our questions. Also Harry - a wealth of information. Thank you all for a wonderful learning experience. This is one place you should visit while in Alice Springs - you won't be disappointed

Visited May 2016
 

Gdaymemates,  Australia, via Trip Advisor

“Must Do in Alice”

Wonderful to experience the concepts of this amazing Australian institution. A must do to understand the vastness of our country.

Visited May 2016

 


 

Ignatius J Budapest, Hungary via trip Advisor

“Fascinating to visit. Learned a lot about how schooling is provided to remote areas”

We spent an interesting couple of hours, and our guide was enthusiastic and very well informed. We were able to observe actual classes in progress. We turned up on spec and were well received. Fascinating experience.

Visited April 2016


 

JimnHilary, Warrington, United Kingdom, via Trip Advisor

“Not to be missed”

My wife and I visited In October 2015 whilst on holiday from the UK.

As retired teachers we were both amazed by this educational provision which provided the highest quality education for young people who live on isolated homes.

By coincidence when on one of the Great Barrier Reef platforms we were talking to one of the staff only to find she had been a student of the School of the Air. All I can say is that she was a credit to the SoA sytem.

The Visitor Centre has interesting displays outlining its history and the methods used to get educational materials to and from its students. As a Licenced Amateur Radio operator in the UK I was particularly interested in the various transmitters on display.

Visited October 2015


 

Keith, United Kingdom, via Trip Advisor

“Special organization! ”

This is a must see - an amazing organization for many years, prior to modern technology & now even more impressive. Redefines homeschooling with classmates hundreds of miles away from each other but connected.

Visited April 2016

David P, via Trip Advisor

“Fascinating”

Gives a fascinating insight into the trials and challenges of providing education over vast distances to isolated families and communities. There's a short film giving an overview of the history of the school of the air and if you go at the right time of day you can see the teachers operating live to air from the studios. Do visit, donate a book to the library or spend in the gift shop, all proceeds go to the school. Reviewed 27 August 2015

Sharon B, Mondragon, Spain, via Trip Advisor

“It was an amazing experience to 'sit in' on a class.”

It was easy to visit the bus stops at the door! It was moving to see the extent of the area and the number of students the school covered. The students art work on the walls was amazing. The staff at the centre were so friendly and helpful. Reviewed 3 September 2015

Maggie, Melbourne VIC, via Trip Advisor

"Worth a visit”

This is a great facility as a visitor you get to watch and listen in on a live classroom and see how lessons are delivered via the internet. You also get an informative talk about how the school of the air works , the history and a look into how isolated children get to be part of a school community. Worth a visit. Reviewed 12 September 2015  

Julie G, via Trip Advisor

“An amazing insight into an extraordinary school”

The presentation was very informative - a visual display of aspects of the school, students, teachers and vast area serviced with an informative commentary delivered very naturally.

Visited July 2015

Ingrid H, lennox Head, via Trip Advisor

Great to watch a live class with kids from all corners of the region. Everyone gives their all so that the kids away from traditional classrooms can still get an education. Reviewed 6 September 2015

Darren M, Adelaide SA, via trip Advisor

Author Toni Brisland and her husband visited the School of the Air Visitor Centre recently and said: "My husband and I enjoyed the presentation by a delightful and informative Dutch hostess and bought some books for your children and gifts for our family. Your staff are terrific." Toni gifted us multiple copies of two of her books saying: " as a token of my appreciation for your promotion of children’s literature."
We wish Toni good luck with her future writing, and will keep an eye out for her new releases!

Author Toni Brisland visits ASSOA

Dear ASSOA, Today I met some students from who I believe were from your school on their trip to Canberra at Questacon Science Museum. I was very impressed at how polite and respectful they were and it was a delight to converse with them. I hope this feedback reaches the students and parents. Yours faithfully Penelope Cole

Penelope Cole, Canberra ACT

I so enjoyed my visit to this School that provides such unique services to school children over the land! If you are a teacher you will enjoy it and be amazed at the energy and drive of those who work there.

Deborah Mullen,VIC

What a wonderful place to visit, to see how the children in the outback (the never never) are being taught. Our children loved to see how other children 'go' to school. A must visit!

Marieke van den Ham, Holland

We visited the Alice Springs School of the Air on 22 May 2015. This proved to be a wonderful experience for us both. We would like to sincerely congratulate all who are involved with this amazing educational facility.

Jolanda provided us with a glimpse into the past, present and the future. She was both personable and professional. A winning combination. It was terrific to see a presenter who was passionate about her workplace and the education of children. We both felt that we had learnt so much about ASSOA. Thank you to Jolanda for making this come alive.

As a retired teacher-librarian from New South Wales, I was so excited that you provided an opportunity for me to contribute in a practical way, with the book donation.

It was worth the trip from south coast New South Wales!

We wish you all nothing but the best for the future of this unique school.

Gayle and Sam Follan, NSW, Australia

Thank you and your team for the outstanding way you looked after our intergenerational group on June 26. The effort that Bil Newman, in particular, made to put together the program and organise some of your students to participate during their holidays was hugely appreciated. I would like to thank you too for your willingness to be there and meet the group. It was a lovely touch.

As a token of our gratitude, we have added a $100 donation to the amount we paid on our invoice.

Thank you for all your assistance and the great work of your team!

Christopher Hundleby, Regional Program Director – Australia/New Zealand, Road Scholar

What an amazing facility catering for just over 100 students spread over some 1 million kilometres. This centre will astound you as to how it teaches our children of the outback. The film was great and our guide passionate. Well worth the visit

Sue R Wollongong, Australia

Dear School of the Air Staff and Students,
I recently visited the Alice Springs School of the Air visitor centre while on holidays with my husband, and I just wanted to say thank you! I have been wanting to visit the Centre for years (it was closed last time I came to Alice Springs) as my father was a lighthouse keeper and I grew up on an island in Bass Straight and was educated via the Victorian Correspondence School at home with my mum. All my life I have been questioned about this and always asked about School of the Air and the similarities to my education. I had no idea what it was really like and it was interesting to see how technology has moved with the times from radio to internet. I really enjoyed visiting the visitor centre to satisfy my curiosity and found the displays and staff very informative and welcoming. Also I think the 'in-school' weeks are a really great idea, as we didn't have the opportunity to meet class mates when I was studying. Thank you for making the centre open to the public.
Thanks again.
Kind regards Alice

Email from a recent visitor

I never knew just how much the "outback" kids have benefitted from this service. We even watched a lesson taking place. A Fabulous facility

Kathryn L Paphos, Cyprus

Well organized presentation and video about the methods used for educating kids in he outback. See the studio where teachers conduct classes over the air. There is a small gift shop.

R.J Baxter California

Fascinating to see and hear how the children are taught. Live teaching can be observed through glass panels. Displays of children's work and crafts are on show, and a guided talk explains how it all works for staff, children and families

Peter Roberts NZ

If you are an educator, especially if you are into ed tech, visit this place. The story of the woman who started the school will inspire you. She was the quintessential educator/entrepreneur. There is an admission fee, but it is well worth it, especially since it helps support this great program.

Michael S San Luis Obispo, California

Our group was so impressed by the tour we were given. The people who provide these necessary educational services are amazingly creative, sensitive, warm and extremely well educated! The families who receive these services must be in awe of those teachers!

Stephen, Yorkshire, UK

We enjoyed our visit and it was nice to be able to sponsor a book for the students. Great to see how technological advances have improved the systems.

Barbra United Kingdom

This is must visit for anyone visiting Alice Springs. From the older days when outback education was non existent to today where one can actually see the teacher/student responding directly via cameras and tv with each other over a huge area of Australia bringing instant teaching into the school room, the same as a normal town school. Glass partitions allow visitors to see teaching in motion as it happens.

Jonna Redfern USA

I last visited here twenty years ago. The technology has changed but that's about all and that's a good thing. Welcoming staff, interesting displays, informative talk. We were there in school time so were able to watch and listen to a live lesson which was lovely. Well worth a visit especially if you know little or nothing about distance education.

Anabel Cusson Melbourne, Australia

We visited the School of the Air first thing in the morning and were thus the only visitors. And this was great! Unfortunately we were there during the school holidays and could not see any live classes, but we saw the video and as we were the only visitors, the (incredibly nice) visitor center guide absolutely took her time in explaining a lot of details and sharing really much information. We got a good impression about this very special kind of schooling and about the different situations the kids are living in.
Afterwards we were glad to contribute with the donation of a book for the library. It is really impressive what the School of the Air does for the children and their families.

Merrie Griffis USA

Went with a coach tour to the School of the Air and found it to be very educational and interesting. Gave us a whole new understanding of the trials of education for those children in remote areas. Nice to see some of their works on display

Teresa W Lake Haven, Australia

Our group had an interesting guide explain how the school operated and a chance to see the actual classrooms used. We also had a chance to visit the gift shop and we could donate a book to the children.

Kay Norristown, Pennsylvania

The staff at the visitor centre for our visit were friendly, informative and happy to answer our many additional questions. They are certainly an asset to the centre!

Bren Cesca Canberra, Australia

The Geslings from Tokyo, Japan

Fascinating

Bob from Dubbo

Wonderful experience

Jessica & Miriam from Bundoora, Victoria, Australia

Great video & so interesting. Those students are very lucky!

The School of the Air is a great story of providing quality education in a remote and difficult setting. It is one I, as a former teacher and administrator, would like everyone to know about - it's a truly good news story. The visitors' centre does a fine job of providing pertinent information with a film and an opportunity to see teachers teaching and kids learning via computers, cameras and satellite.

Leni - Vancouver

Vicki & Dave from Te Puke, New Zealand

So interesting - fantastic

Rosie from Meridian, Texas, USA

Great service

Barbara from Brisbane, Queeensland Australia

Interesting, enjoyable & a great presenter!

Dianne & Warrick from Korumburra, Queensland, Australia

Excellent - well done! An insight into outback education.

Han & Gabrielle from Brisbane, Australia

Awesome!!

Rebecca from Germany

So interesting! Great explanation, thanks.

Stan from Malvern, England

A wonderful developement

Judy from Denver, Colorado, USA

Wish I could teach here

Betty & Lyle from Loveland, Colorado, USA

Outstanding

Lynne from Eildon, Victoria, Australia

Excellent

Jenifer from The Entrance, NSW, Australia

TOPS!!!

Sam and Ruth from Washington DC USA

Great work!